Skip to main content

Our Reviews

Read What Past Guest Have Said

Monteverde Lodge & Gardens is proud to be a member of the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. We’re committed to offering each guest warm, gracious hospitality and personalized service. For as long as you’re with us, we’re dedicated to making you feel completely at home. If you’re planning a visit, please read our reviews below to learn what past guests have to say about their experience at our hotel in Monteverde, Costa Rica. 

Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff!

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at Monteverde Lodge and Gardens. Beautiful natural setting, delicious restaurant, breakfast was included and quite yummy. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Definitely would recommend!

Nov. 25th, 2019

Emily Jackson-Hamilton, Canada

Great hotel with a lovely welcoming feel!

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour of Costa Rica. This was a great hotel. Location wise- out of the way but only 10 minute walk to town; it allows the property to be set in its own gardens with lots of wildlife.The pool was small but fine for a quick dip- not a hotel to visit if you want a week by the pool. Rooms were great, dark wood flooring and felt almost like you were is a North American ski lodge- very cosy. The food was excellent and the restaurant/bar area great with big open fire. Highly recommended.

Oct.25th, 2019

Brissle Jack-Bristol, United Kingdom

Peaceful Bliss

The staff here are amazing. This is a great place to visit to feel complete serenity. So if you are looking to get away from the chaos of most of the world this is a small piece of heaven.  I read in one of the reviews someone said it was far more ‘basic’? Yes this is a laid back enjoy real life kind of place no tv and upscale amenities.

Oct. 18th, 2019

Ashley Morrissey-Jacksonville, Florida

Amazing, unique hotel

We loved our stay at Monteverde Lodge and Gardens. This place is so unique with the trails throughout the garden, the outdoor patio overlooking the rainforest and the pool surrounded by trees, we really enjoyed just exploring the grounds. However, when we did want to leave it was really nice to be able to walk just 10 minutes to Santa Elena for restaurants and shops. The food at the restaurant was great for breakfast and the one time we ate dinner here. We also loved seeing the animals just outside the window and made a point to enjoy the patio, ordering drinks or getting coffee in the reception area which we took out to enjoy and watch the birds fly around. The pictures below are the monkeys we saw one morning with breakfast and the view of the rainforest from the outdoor patio. We had an enclosed room with a window specifically to keep bugs out, but we’re still unsuccessful - frequently finding ants and one moth, but we just accepted this comes with staying in the rainforest and tried to keep things as clean as possible in the room.

August 17th, 2019

Heather W.-San Diego, California

A warm welcome, excellent service, lovely food

It is an excellent sign when the receptionist comes outside to welcome you. We had a room close to reception which overlooked the gardens with a stream just outside the window. We couldn’t have been made more welcome with even a Costa Rican Bailey’s provided one evening when turndown took place. The bathroom and shower were excellent and the bed and room beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were excellent with a 30% off happy hour in the bar restaurant from 6 to 7. Tea,coffee and cake were on offer in the lounge all day. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

July 14th, 2019

Stephen L.-Conwy County, United Kingdom

Fantastic Oasis!

We loved our time here - the staff was incredibly friendly and always helpful, the food was delicious and the room was more than comfortable. The added bonus of the troop of monkeys just off our porch was hard to believe. We thank you for all of the little details (a full bed as a cot, the citrus water in the room- totally safe to drink for folks from CO, and many others) We felt like we were family.

July 14th, 2019

Liesl R.-Denver Colorado

Delightful

We stayed for a few days in one of the garden rooms, which was utterly delightful. The small patio out the back was covered, and sitting in the hammock during a gigantic thunderstorm was one of the highlights of my trip. The food in the dining room was interesting and well-prepared and went beyond the tico cuisine found in many tourist-centered places.

June 28th, 2019

Amy B.-Bozeman, Montana

Pura Vida!

I picked this resort from blogs I read about visiting the rainforest of CR! It was amazing! We were greeted by the receptionist as we drove up. The room was a 2nd floor balcony, and was ready when we arrived. Very clean, spacious room. The bed was very comfortable. There is no AC, but you don’t need it. We slept with the sliding doors open (screen door closed) and it was so pleasant. The grounds are beautiful, pool is small and quaint and heated, wonderful included breakfast in the morning, as well as a coffee bar ready by 6 am! Exceptional service. It is close enough to town to walk, but yet you feel you’re secluded when you’re on the property! Very responsive with questions through email before we arrived. Highly recommend! Saw monkeys right from the balcony! If you visit the bartender I highly recommend the Monteverde Garden cocktail! Yum! Pura Vida!

June 25th, 2019

Mady C.-Edmond Oklahoma

This is a happy place I wish to return to

Monteverde Lodge and Gardens is the perfect hotel for me. The setting is quite simply breathtaking and that has to take Centre stage. But it feels homely and that probably comes from the amazing staff. Everywhere you look you are surrounded with beauty. It isn’t a flashy hotel but it’s perfect. We stayed on the 1st floor and slept with only the insect door closed. I woke to the sounds of a small stream outside, the morning chorus of forest birds, broken occasionally with the sound of the Bellbird calling (which people fly around the world to see - and we saw it from our window!). I don’t know what the other rooms are like - but this was a Great option for us. Kimberly and the team behind the reception desk were incredibly helpful and welcoming. There are no TVs in the room. So if you’d rather be watching tv than watching the forest, then this isn’t the place for you. It’s Well situated close to other restaurants, curri cuncha reserve and Monteverde cloud forest reserve. We saw a number of mammals on the short walks around the property too. I wish every hotel I stayed at was like this!

June 20th, 2019

Graeme Marais-Sandton, South Africa

Wonderful! Monteverde Lodge..and Gardens

The Lodge is in a great position with lovely grounds and nature trails as well as a really nice pool and pool bar. The food was excellent and the staff were so nice and pleasant and helpful. Nothing too much trouble and all with a smile. A reallly relaxed place. The staff can arrange all trips and tours if you wish. Can't say thanks enough. !!

May 24th, 2019

Anne G.-Blackburn, United Kingdom

Fantstic Lodge

My family and I have recently returned from 4 days at the Monteverde Lodge and Gardens. We had just completed the 5 day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu and after this incredible, surreal and strenuous experience the Monteverde Lodge was absolute luxury! The gardens and environment are beautiful to stroll around and we even saw the resident coatis and agutis. The pool and the relaxing hammocks were very inviting after a day of exploring the cloud forest or town or horseback riding.. The rooms are lovely with incredibly comfortable beds and pillows! The staff at front desk are very helpful and all spoke excellent English. The restaurant staff were also lovely and the food was excellent. I would certainly stay here again and highly recommend to others visiting Costa Rica.

May 8th, 2019

Allison C.-Cambridge, New Zealand
Back to top